Academic Calendar

Fall 2017

Wed, Aug 30

Classes/Shopping week begins Weds following a Monday schedule

Mon, Sept 4

Holiday (Labor Day) – No classes or class-related screenings

Wed, Sept 6 by 5 pm, students email Profs/TAs/TFs to let them know if they accept or decline admission/wait list to limited enrollment (mostly making) courses. Teaching staff can approve students into their classes using the my.harvard system up until

Thurs, Sept 7

5 pm: College-wide course registration deadline: Crimson Carts submitted

Mon, Sept 11

time TBD—Mandatory Thesis Budget Meeting for any students doing a VES 99

Tues, Sept 12

time TBD—Mandatory Thesis Budget Meeting for any students doing a VES 99

Mon, Sept 18

Thesis budget form due to Mary Park, signed by project adviser

Mon, Oct 9

Holiday (Columbus Day) – No classes or class-related screenings

Mon, Oct 23 – Fri, Oct 27

First thesis reviews for the class of 2018

Thurs, Oct 26

by 5pm applications to concentrate in VES are due to Paula Soares

Thurs, Nov 9

College-wide concentration declaration deadline

Fri, Nov 10

Holiday (Veterans’ Day) – Staff holiday, but classes will still meet

Wed, Nov 22 – Sun, Nov 26

Thanksgiving Break

Fri, Dec 1

Last day of regular classes, fall term

Sat, Dec 2 – Fri, Dec 8

Reading Period

Sat, Dec 9 – Tues, Dec 19

Exam Period

Wed, Dec 20

Winter Break begins

Spring 2018

Tues, Jan 2

Pre-approved students return to campus

Fri, Jan 12

Wintersession begins

Mon, Jan 15

Holiday (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)

Mon, Jan 22

Classes/Shopping Week begins

Thurs, Jan 25

5pm: VES sign up process deadline

Fri, Jan 26

5pm: Course registration deadline: Crimson Carts submitted

Mon, Feb 19

Holiday (Presidents’ Day) – No classes or class-related screenings

Tues, Feb 20 – Mon, Feb 26

Second thesis reviews for class of 2018

Sat, Mar 10 –
Sun, Mar 18

Spring Break

Fri, Mar 30

4pm: Thesis hand in for the class of 2018

Mon, Apr 2 –
Fri, Apr 13

Final thesis reviews for the class of 2018

Wed, Apr 25

Last day of regular classes, spring term

Thurs, Apr 26 – Wed, May 2

Reading Period

Thurs, May 3 – Sat, May 12

Exam Period

Thurs, May 24

Commencement; VES Reception 4pm-6pm in CCVA

Mon, May 29

Holiday (Memorial Day)